Installation Dinner Update

On January 27, 2018, the Central Jersey Council held its 56th Annual Installation Dinner and Awards Banquet. Many of the Councils adopted units including NWS Earle, the USCG Aides to Navigation Team, the USCG Cutters, Katherine Walker, Sturgeon Bay, Penobscott Bay and Sitkinak were in attendance. Additionally, US Coast Guard Sector NY, the Battleship NJ BB62 Div., NSCC and the Rutgers NROTC attended. The Rutgers NROTC provided an Honor Guard for the occasion as they paraded the Colors and the guests honored America by singing the National Anthem.

Throughout the evening, door prizes that were donated by local supporters of the Council were drawn and other gifts were handed out. Each of the Adopted Units Commanding Officers had the opportunity to introduce their Sailors of the Year and speak about the SOY’s accomplishments. The Council presented each SOY a certificate and a $100.00 check in recognition of a job well done. Chris Aaron selected Fran Gregor as her Officer of the Year for 2017. Tilcon Corporation was the recipient of the Jack and Elaine Leslie Award, and the Stu Chaulkey Award for distinguished service to the Council was awarded to Steve Hutton.

Christine Aaron was sworn in as Council President by Captain Pierre Fuller, the Commanding Officer of Naval Weapons Station Earle. Commander Robert Taylor, USCG Sector NY swore in the Council Officers and Board of Directors. After many years of service as the Council’s Senior Vice President, Frank Greco was presented a Certificate of Appreciation by the new Senior Vice President, Greg Varga. Other Certificates of Appreciation were given to Ashley Rollo for her Council fundraising activities and William Addison, the Public Affairs Officer for Naval Weapons Station Earle for his continued assistance to the Council. LCDR. Bart Myles, USNSCC and the Commanding Officer of the Battleship NJ Division was awarded a Navy League membership for his continued dedication to the Sea Cadets.

The event was held at Venue 518 in Bound Brook NJ and was attended by over 80 guests. The Council wishes to thank all of our Patrons without whom the dinner and the Sailor of the Year Awards would not have been possible.

BPW Inc.
DADE Construction Services
Industrial Conditioning Equipment
Myles Transportation Services
Preferred Freezer Services
The Knights of Columbus, Piscataway Council
The Home Depot, Bridgewater and Milltown locations
The NJ Folk Festival
Thomas Vastardis and Associates, CPA’s
Tilcon NY Inc.


Council Members
Dr. Angus Gillespie
Frank Greco
Carlton Hoye
Andy Fekete
Arthur Kulback